Jumanji – Welcome to the jungle – Jake Kasdan (2018) ~ ☕☕☕☕

Jumanji_Benvenuti_nella_Giungla_Teaser_Poster_Italia_01_midHello everyone! In this review we will talk about the new film Jumanji – Welcome to the jungle!

With this kind of sequel there is always the risk to fall into the category “not at par with the original”, but I’m very happy to say that this film has managed very well to get around the problem. The best solution in this situation is, in my opinion, dealing with the main theme in a completely different way, and it is precisely what they did with this new Jumanji, those of you who saw the trailer have already understood what I mean.

Jumanji-2-1

 

 

Who remembers exactly how Jumanji ends in 1995? The infamous board game, finished on a beach, is noticed by a boy walking nearby. Well, the sequel of more than 20 years later starts exactly from this scene, always set in the 90s, and I’m very grateful for this: twenty years I wonder who the poor guy Jumanji found is … now I have the answers. After being picked up, the game is cruelly snubbed by the boy, who prefers to play super-modern videogames of his era. After this scene tearjerker, Jumanji decides to undertake a makeover and the next morning the boy finds a new videogame in its place, Jumanji 2.0.

jumanji-615x276Despite the new look, the game does not lose its old habits and sucks its player. Twenty years later, in a high school, four kids, Spencer (Alex Wolff), Fridge (Ser’Darius Blain), Bethany (Madison Iseman) and Martha (Morgan Turner), respectively the nerd, the football champion, the queen bee of the school and the lonely serious girl, they end up in punishment and run into the old video game. So, immediately after choosing the avatars, they are sucked into the videogame and find themselves in the jungle in the clothes of the characters chosen as avatars.

dwayne-johnson-jumanji-maxw-654I have waited a lot for this film and I am fully satisfied, in fact I would say that it exceeded my expectations. What I appreciated is the fact that it had very little to do with old Jumanji, do not get me wrong, I loved and still love the film of ’95, for this I’m glad they have not ruined by trying to emulate it. Even the genre is different: while the first is classified as a thriller, the second of thrillers has not even the shadow and is classified as an action movie, it also has a definetely more comical cut.

Jumanji-wallpaperAs soon as the cast was announced I knew I would have loved it. We find Dwayne (The Rock) Johnson as Dr. Smolder Bravestone, Spencer’s avatar, the inimitable Jack Black in the role of Professor Shelly Oberon, Bethany’s avatar, Karen Gillan who plays Ruby Roundhouse, Martha’s avatar, Kevin Hart in the role by Moose Finbar, Fridge’s avatar and Nick Jonas as a character I can not reveal anything about. For those who missed it, we already met Karen Gillan as Amelia Pond in Doctor Who with Matt Smith and as Nebula in the Guardians of the Galaxy, I’m not going to explain how she became one of my favorite actresses. Jack Black, my absolute favorite comedian, will make you die with his interpretation of an adolescent trapped in the body of “an overweight middle-aged man”.

What else to say, the film is highly recommended to everyone, without age limits, has breathtaking action scenes, it is very funny and does not miss a touching and growing part of the characters.

jumanji-600

See you next time!

Lascia un commento