The Death Cure – Wes Ball (2018) ~ ☕

So, let’s begin from a premise: I, this review, I did not want to make it, but after watching the film, I felt the need to explode and insult it!
Ah, there will be some spoilers, I apologize for that.

Told that,

Good evening!
How’s your life going?

53364.jpgI hope that you, whoever you are, you who run into this review/outburst somehow, I hope that you did not watch the film – or that you have not read the book in the case you have witnessed this mess.

Ok, I admit it, as a movie, exclusively basing on the previous films of the saga and totally ignoring the books, The Death Cure is not too bad. Not a masterpiece, with some plot holes, but in accordance with the previous cinematographic chapters.
I mean, you do not need to delete it from your memory, but you can totally spend your time better.

The problem – as always – is the fact that this movie claims to be the transposition of a book. Book that – luckily or unluckily depending on how you want to see that – I have red. AND LOVED.

Then I have watched this.

video-text1.pngI knew it would not please me, I was perfectly aware of that after watching The Scorch Trials, but I did not expect this.

Ok, I’ll try to be clearer.

  1. The plot. They succeeded in screwing everything up. EVERYTHING.
    This guy, Wes Ball, he and the writers… THEY READ NOT EVEN THE BACK OF THE BOOK, DID THEY?!
    538724184562fa0a4bd0ed676f33a162To make you understand, when I start watching the film, I took a block notes to report the main differences between movie and book, since, at the beginning, I wanted to talk also about that. After TWENTY minutes of film (and I remind you it lasts two and a half hours) I had totally filled an A4 paper.
    With only major differences.
    At that point, I decided not to do the review. But… Then you’ll understand why I needed this outburst.
  2. Practically everything that should have happened to Thomas (Dylan O’ Brien) happens to Minho (Ki Hong Lee). Randomly. Why?!
  3. maze-runner-3-nuove-locandine-8.jpgAll the “revelations” of the book… Blown off.
  4. Teresa (Kaya Scodelario)… They dignified her, when she is one of the most controversial characters in the book! Damn, even her death has become something random, just “put there” without any kind of reason!
  5. Ava (Patricia Clarkson). Other controversial character who has been trivialised. You never reach the conclusion “WCKD is good”! It was important!
    I better stop here with the characters.
  6. Ah, and then, the reason I decided to share with you my indignation.
    This is a MAJOR SPOILER so, if you have not seen the film or you want to read the book, skip this point.



    I am serious, it is THE spoiler.






    Newt (Thomas Brodie-Sangster). Newt’s death. It was one of the most beautiful and excruciating moment of all three books. When Newt begs Thomas to kill him, that “Please, Tommy. Please.” which made every reader’s soul cry, the moment when our hearts “fell into a black abyss” with Thomas’ when he pulled the trigger, that scene was unique. It destroyed me, it shattered my heart in a thousand pieces, but I have loved it.
    newt e tom.gifAnd, to be honest, I kind of expected every mess made in this film, all of them. But I did not expect that they could ruin this scene. Not at all.
    Yes, you read right: they ruined it.
    Nothing more “Please, Tommy”. Nothing more Thomas pulling the trigger.
    A banal brawl and Tommy who, defending himself, unwillingly turns against Newt the knife Newt was attacking him with.










    Nothing else.
    I don’t even… I have only insults, really.

I think that, after this, I can – must – go.

Do not watch this film, seriously. Take a pass on this. Read the trilogy, that is truly worth it. James Dashner is a sublime author.

See you soon, hopefully with something better!

Pirandello

P.S. If anyone is curious, this is the plot:

Maze-Runner-The-Death-Cure-Concept-Art-Ken-Barthelmey-M01.jpg

Thomas (Dylan O’ Brien) & Co. are looking for the WCKD in order to save Minho, meeting people supposed to be dead and discovering that people supposed to be safe are not, arriving in the last entire city and discovering real WCKD’s plans. Everything tied up with classic American action, with random shootings, random explosions, random suspense scenes, random violence and… many other things, everything very random! Enjoy!

1 thoughts on “The Death Cure – Wes Ball (2018) ~ ☕

  1. Pingback: The Maze Runner, the trilogy – James Dashner ~ ☕☕☕☕☕ – IL CAPPUCCINO

Lascia un commento