Lion – Garth Davies (2016) ~ ☕☕☕☕☕

lion-posterHello everybody!

Here I am again with a review I waited so long to write because it’s hard to express all the emotions this movie made me feel.
Generally, I like drama, and I like biographic movies; Lion is a biopic, but that’s not the only reason that makes me say that this movie is amazing and it’s worth watching it.
Let’s start from the plot.

 

1986, Khandwa, India. The young Saroo (Sunny Pawar) lives with his c3446-saroo2be2bguddumother Kamla (Priyanka Bose), his little sister and his elder brother Guddu (Abhishek Bharate) in a small village. Life is quite hard and they all work somehow: for example they steal coal from freight trains and exchange it for milk and food. One night Saroo goes with Guddu to the train station because he had found a work nearby, but Saroo is too tired to work and decides to stay in the station until his brother returns. But he falls asleep on a train. And the train leaves.

09b77-lion08The train stops 1600 km later, in Kolkata.

Saroo finds himself completely alone, in a tough city where he cannot even understand the language – in Kolkata the official language is Bengali, but in Khandwa is hindi – , where children disappear and the police is powerless. He will have to face a lot of troubles and dangers before ending up in an orphanage where he finally seems a little lucky: thanks to Mrs. Sood (Deepti Naval) – founder of the ISSA (Indian Society for Sponsorship and Adoption) – Saroo is adopted by John (David Wenham) and Sue Brierley (Nicole Kidman), an australian childless couple that lives in Hobart, Tasmania. Saroo flies to Australia, and India becomes just a memory.

8a554-lion-nicole-kidman-saroo-wendham2011, Melbourne. Saroo (Dev Patel) is a college student, he studies hotel management, he has a girlfriend, Lucy (Rooney Mara), and friends. He has no memory of his hometown until one night one of his friends makes jalebi, a treat he was used to share with his brother Guddu. Saroo is forced to take a walk on memory lane and he begins a desperate quest to find his family.

e805c-coverlgWhat should I say? Besides the fact that Dev Patel is absolutely extraordinary in this movie – I mean, he got a Oscar nomination as Best Supporting Actor – this movie is beautiful. Deeply moving, involving (I could not help asking myself “is he going to make it?” for all the second part of the movie) and touching, it kept me glued to the screen until the very end.
The worst part has been realising that even if the movie is set in 1986, many things like that still happen every day in Kolkata (and not only there). Some scenes brought me to tears.

I recommend this movie to everyone – an adult audience might be better – and surely I 2dc51-0d219ff6eewill read the book upon which the movie was based, A Long Way Home, written by Saroo Brierley himself.

I hope I made you want to watch this wonderful movie.

See you next time!

 

P.S. If you need more of Dev Patel in your life (yes, I love him), I recommend you to watch: Slumdog Millionaire, a 2008 movie directed by Danny Boyle, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2012, directed by John Madden) and The Man Who Knew Infinity, a beautiful 2015 biopic directed by Matt Brown about the mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan. Of course, I met him for the first time as Anwar in Skins

Lascia un commento