Jessica Jones – Melissa Rosenberg – Season One ~ ☕☕☕☕

57489-locandinaHello everybody!

Today’s review is kinda “difficult” – I mean, I procrastinated this moment for a while but I really can’t figure out why.

Everyone knows how much I love the Marvel Universe, add Netflix advertising Jessica Jones all over my Homepage to it and it’ll be quite clear why I decied to start watching (well, binge watching) this TV show – of course, my friend Leopardi must be taken into account for this decision – and come on, there’s David Tennant in it, it’s enough.

Let’s talk about the plot.

9f529-mike-colter-as-marvels-luke-cage-netflix-seriesJessica Jones (Krysten Ritter) is a P.I., a very good one. Rational and bit cold, she hides a dark past known only by her best friend Patricia “Trish” Walker (Rachael Taylor). When some strange crimes start happening in Hell’s Kitchen, though, a dark and very dangerous enemy comes back from Jessica’s past. With the help of Trish, of the cop Will Simpson (Wil Traval) and of  Luke Cage (Mike Colter) Jessica will face him, but… considering the “abilities” of his enemy, first she has to figure out who, of the people around her, can be trusted.

f420d-trish-on-the-airI had to be brief about the plot because of spoilers – I hate spoilers, so I don’t want to spoil anything. Anyway, the plot itself is good, many characters are nice but the villain, Kilgrave (David Tennant), is absolutely amazing.
Let me explain.
Normally I can’t stand the bad guys (who can?) unless they are “bad” enough to be called villains. Example: I think that Moriarty (Andrew Scott, in BBC’s Sherlock) or Joker (Heath Ledger, in The Dark Knight) are amazing as villains… you know, they are true villains.

I have to admit that Kilgrave can totally be on that list. Masterfully (on my opinion)8c71c-ce7a0c0ec9a25719532e9c344ef3a36c played by David Tennant – Barty Crouch Junior in Harry Potter and the Goblet of FireTen in Doctor WhoAlec Hardy in Broadchurch – Kilgrave is a creepy, ruthless, slightly psycopath villain with the power of mind-control – that’s what makes him so dangerous. And he has this obsession – he insists in calling it “love” – for Jessica, the only one ever escaped from his control – she actually almost killed him once.

The nurse Claire Temple (Rosario Dowson) is in the cast (I think that now she is the official nurse of Hell’s Kitchen superheroes – I can’t count all the times she helped Matt/Daredevil, especially in the first season of Daredevil), while Luke Cage is another Marvel superhero and there is a whole TV show about him (another Netflix/Marvel one).

a character that really surprised me is Trish – at first she looked like the usual Know-It-All and I couldn’t stand her, but then I really liked her – she’s a cool and strong character. A thing that I really liked, even if at first looked weird, is that Jessica’s powers are in the background, the important thing is the thrill, the suspance. There has been episodes literally breathtaking, and other ones end with cliffhangers. It’s quite catching, even if sometimes the lenght of the episodes made it all a bit “difficult” – it’s not really good for binge-watching.

I think this review is kinda messed-up but to cap it all I really enjoyed this series and I’ll keep watching it – I think they’re shooting Season 2 or they already did, I heard some rumors a few weeks ago but I’m not sure.
If you’re looking for a thrilling, very well-made superheroes TV show… Jessica Jones is here to help you.

Pennac

P.S: who’s excited about Marvel’s Defenders? 😀

1 thoughts on “Jessica Jones – Melissa Rosenberg – Season One ~ ☕☕☕☕

  1. Pingback: MARVEL VS DC – IL CAPPUCCINO

Lascia un commento